STEVENAGE BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL MINUTES

Date: Wednesday, 16 October 2024
Time: 7.00pm
Place: Council Chamber

Present: Councillors: Jim Brown (Mayor), Nazmin Chowdhury (Deputy Mayor),

Myla Arceno, Julie Ashley-Wren, Sandra Barr, Philip Bibby CC, Stephen Booth, Robert Boyle, Leanne Brady, Lloyd Briscoe, Rob Broom, Forhad Chowdhury, Peter Clark, Akin Elekolusi, Alistair Gordon, Lynda Guy, Richard Henry, Jackie Hollywell,

Coleen Houlihan, Conor McGrath, Andy McGuinness, Sarah Mead,

Robin Parker CC, Claire Parris, Ellie Plater CC, Tom Plater,

Ceara Roopchand, Loraine Rossati, Simon Speller, Jeannette Thomas,

Carolina Veres, Anne Wells, Nigel Williams, Jade Woods and

Tom Wren

Start / End Start Time: 7.00pm **Time:** End Time: 7.15pm

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Kamal Choudhury, Mason Humberstone, Lin Martin-Haugh and Graham Snell.

There were no declarations of interest.

2 HONORARY ALDERMAN

The Mayor advised that the meeting had been convened to consider a Motion to confer the title of Alderman on Mr Michael Downing.

Councillor Richard Henry in moving the motion paid tribute to Michael Downing for his outstanding service to the Town and its residents over many years having served on both Stevenage Borough Council and Hertfordshire County Council. He advised that if the resolution was approved, a special meeting of the Council would be held on 2 December where Members would have an opportunity to share reflections and pay tribute to Michael.

Councillor Jackie Hollywell formally seconded the Motion and stated that Michael Downing, along with Baroness Sharon Taylor had been a great support to her when she was first elected to the Symonds Green Ward.

It was moved, seconded and **RESOLVED** that in accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman on Michael Downing who has rendered over 28 years eminent

service as a Councillor, Mayor, Chairman of the Planning and Development Committee and the Environment and Economy Select Committee, and representing the people of the Town, particularly in Bedwell, Old Town and Symonds Green Wards.

<u>CHAIR</u>